Beacon AwardNewport News, VA – Riverside Regional Medical Center's Cardio Vascular Telemetry Unit is proud to announce that it has received the Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence, an award given by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). The award is specifically designated to recognize the nation's top pediatric, progressive, and adult critical care units across a multitude of hospitals. The recognition itself is priceless, as it represents extraordinary commitment to high-quality critical care standards, and dedication to the exceptional care of patients and their families. 

The Cardio Vascular Telemetry (CVT) unit provides care to cardiovascular, post cardiac interventional patients and patients requiring telemetry monitoring.  CVT is a step down unit for the intensive care unit, coronary care unit and for post operative cardiovascular patients including coronary artery bypass patients.

"Having our Cardio Vascular Telemetry Unit recognized as a Beacon for quality outcomes truly is a team effort" Gwen Hartzog, Vice President, Patient Care Services and Chief Nursing Officer said. "As a nurse knowing that we are exceptional when our patients rely on us the most is a great feeling." Hartzog continued.

This is the second critical unit at Riverside to receive this recognition. In 2010 Riverside's Intensive Care Unit was recognized with the Beacon Award.  

As a Beacon Award recipient, Riverside Regional Medical Center's Cardio Vascular Telemetry Unit succeeded in the following areas, as measured against evidence-based Beacon Award for Excellence criteria:

  • Leadership Structures and Systems
  • Appropriate Staffing and Staff Engagement
  • Effective Communication, Knowledge Management, Learning and Development, Best Practices
  • Evidence-Based Practice and Processes
  • Patient Outcomes

AACN President Mary Stahl, RN, MSN, ACNS-BC, CCNS-CMC, CCRN, applauds the commitment of the caregivers at Riverside Regional Medical Center's Cardio Vascular Telemetry Unitfor working together to meet and exceed the high standards set forth by the Beacon Award for Excellence. These dedicated healthcare professionals join other members of the exceptional community of nurses who set the standard for optimal patient care.

"The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes. Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care," she explains. 

Beacon Award units realize many benefits of having met rigid criteria for excellence, high-quality standards and exceptional care of patients and patients' families:

  • Influence and Recognition: Units that participate in the Beacon Award process help set the standards for what constitutes an excellent acute or critical care environment through the collection of evidence-based information. Patient safety and quality programs, such as the Leapfrog Group Hospital Quality and Safety Survey, consider Beacon achievement in their evaluation process.
  • Credibility: Consumers, who are paying much closer attention today to quality-of-care factors with respect to their own healthcare, will take this level of recognition into consideration when choosing a hospital for care or treatment.
  • Recruitment and Retention: Prospective employees will recognize a Beacon Award unit as a healthy work environment, a place where quality of care is tied directly to quality of staff. Nurses who work in these units will recognize that their skills and expertise are appreciated and valued, boosting employee morale.

For more information on the Beacon Award or AACN, (800) 899-2226.


Published: September 12, 2011