As a large, coordinated, nonprofit partnership of primary care and specialty physicians, the Riverside Medical Group (RMG) is committed to advancing healthcare in general and enhancing the quality of life for their patients in particular. These efforts and their positive results were recognized when RMG received the 2008 Medical Group Preeminence Award.

AMGA AwardThis prestigious national award is given annually by the American Medical Group Association (AMGA) to organizations that continuously strive to improve patient care through innovation, advanced communications and information sharing, the creation of sound public policy and effective physician leadership development. RMG is the only Medical group to win this award in the country in 2008. 

RMG was specifically noted for its pioneering role in developing the electronic medical record to increase patient safety and improve outcomes.  In addition, the AMGA recognized RMG’s successful efforts in the area of medication compliance as well as physician/health system joint ventures designed to bring a higher level of integration to patient care.

The award, presented during the AMGA’s 2008 Annual Conference in Orlando, Florida, was received by Riverside Health System representatives Richard J. Pearce, Chief Executive Officer, Barry L. Gross, M.D., Executive Vice President/Chief Medical Officer, Michael J. Doucette, Vice President for Physician Services, and Charles Frazier, M.D., Vice President for Innovation, for sustained leadership and vision in supporting the development and growth of RMG. 

From the perspective of the presenting association, “This award recognizes contributions to the community and to the medical group model of healthcare itself,” said Donald W. Fisher, Ph.D., CAE, the AMGA’s President and Chief Executive Officer. “Riverside Health System has proven what professionals dedicated to coordinated care in the medical group setting can achieve to better serve their patients and their organizations.”

Previous recipients of the Medical Group Preeminence Award include Albert Lea Medical Center–Mayo Health System, Colorado Permanente Medical Group, The Everett Clinic, Geisinger Health System, Lovelace Health System, Ochsner Clinic Foundation, Park Nicollet Health Services, Vanderbilt Medical Group and the Virginia Mason Medical Center.

RMG is currently made up of over 325 interconnected physicians in more than 132 offices, diagnostic centers, outpatient facilities and other healthcare sites throughout the region.

Published: March 19, 2008